Fashion Fridays: a long week of events

Hey guys!

My parents celebrated their 25th wedding anniversary last week and my brother celebrated his coming of age ceremony (sort of like a Bar Mitzvah). So of course, we celebrated in the most Indian way possible with a huge party and three events spread across three days. It was a long and busy week which was filled with lots of stress/fun/excitement and it was so nice that we could share it with most of our loved ones.

 

So I’m going to talk a little bit about each event and show you what I wore.

 

Day 1: Mendhi (henna)

Henna is typically applied to a bride before her wedding. My mom’s friends threw this event for her and there were professional henna ladies, dancing, food etc. Typically people wear pastel colours and flowers to this event.

IMG_1870.JPG

 

I wore this beautiful dress by an Indian designer, Arjun and Anjali. It’s got a huge cancan skirt with 14 layers of fabric and flower embroidered sleeves and torso.

 

Day 2: Janya (coming of age ceremony)

This is the equivalent to a Bar Mitzvah. It’s a religious ceremony where a boy becomes a man (in theory). This day I went for a much more understated look. I wore a brighter shade of pink with a mesh cut out over the midriff area.
Screen Shot 2016-09-05 at 19.52.41.png

 

Day 3: Party

This was a formal event and everyone wore suits and gowns. I chose to wear this gown by Morrell Maxie and I bought it online at www.edressme.com. I liked this because it was elegant but young and I haven’t ever seen anything like this. The quality of the dress was actually pretty decent (I’ve been let down in the past with poor quality clothes).

Screen Shot 2016-09-05 at 19.56.54.png

 

Sasha xx

Leave a Reply

