Fashion Fridays – AW16 WEARABLE FASHION TRENDS, Part 2

Hey guys!

So Divya wrote a great piece last week for Fashion Friday about wearable trends for AW16. I thought I would include some other trends and my thoughts on them.

Screen Shot 2016-08-18 at 16.21.05.png

  1. Sportswear. I think this is the best trend ever. Who doesn’t want to be walking around in their active wear all day long? Any of you readers from Australia might have seen the best commercial I’ve ever seen in my life: click here. I personally don’t own adidas or calvins, but I do think their casual wear can look so chic if it’s paired correctly. I do own a pair of yeezys and I can definitely vouch for them. They are the most comfortable pair of shoes I own (I feel like I’m walking on a cloud), and it’s easy to dress them up/down depending on where I’m going and how I mix and match them with my other clothes and accessories.

    Screen Shot 2016-08-18 at 16.20.55.png

  2. Military. With this trend constantly in/out, who doesn’t own anything khaki green or cargo still? I’m not a huge fan of going full fledged into this trend but I like incorporating it in small bits into my wardrobe.
    Screen Shot 2016-08-18 at 16.21.25.png
  3. Sequins. Classic. Is it even Autumn/Winter/Christmas without sequins? In my long twenty-three years, I have seen some horrific sequin tops and dresses. But, I have seen it done tastefully too and I think it can look absolutely stunning.
    Screen Shot 2016-08-18 at 16.21.52.png
  4. Velvet. I have a love/hate relationship with this. For some reason, I don’t mind black velvet on women, but I can’t stand coloured velvet in general or even black velvet on men (can we stop to remind ourselves what those black velvet suit jackets even are, ew). I bought these really trendy black velvet/mesh leggings last year over Christmas and I think they add an interesting dimension to my outfits. If you’re doing this trend, do it right please.

    Screen Shot 2016-08-18 at 16.22.23.png

  5. Ski pants. I get the sportswear trend. But this is just taking it to a whole new level of laziness. For the common person, like me, if I were ever to buy ski pants, they wouldn’t be designer. So for my price range, I don’t think I’d ever get a fashionable pair, no matter how hard I tried to dress it up. This is a huge no for me.

I hope you enjoyed reading this!

Sasha xx

 

Leave a Reply

