makeup mondays: make up tips you need to know!

Hey guys,

Sooooooooo although I’ve always though that I’m pretty okay at doing make up, I’ve learnt so many different tips and tricks along the way. I hope you find this as useful as I did.

  1. Who even are you? I mean, what are you into? I hope you know the answers, or even partially know the answers. If you need help rediscovering your style I suggest you drown yourself in fashion magazines and by watching SO many Youtube videos (my personal favourite beauty gurus include: dulcecandy, meghanreinks and tanyaburr – check them out if you haven’t already!)
  2. Always start right. I like to either use a primer or a moisturiser. If I choose to use a primer, I’d go for the Make Up For Ever Step 1 Smoothing Primer and if I were using a moisturiser I’d use the First Aid Oil Free Mattifying Gel Moisturiser. Also, never forget to use sun block (even if it’s not sunny to prevent fine lines and wrinkles). I don’t use a separate sunblock because I choose to use products with SPF in them.
  3. Find the right shade for you. If you’re in the U.S., this should be a piece of cake. I know around the U.S. in Sephora they have a machine that can match your exact skin tone to a foundation (I’m seriously so jealous that this doesn’t exist in Hong Kong). So try things at the counter, get the staff to help you and just experiment with things you have.
  4. Conceal in upside down triangles. This makes a huge difference to the way your makeup looks when it’s finished, especially if you’re doubling up your concealer as a brightener by using a shade lighter than you. This is the easiest thing to do but makes such a noticeable difference.
  5. Separate your creams from your powders. Usually, up to this point in my makeup routine, everything is a liquid or cream. So now if I want to move on to my powder highlights, contours etc. I’d need to set my make up first. I know so many people who skip this step, but DON’T! Not only does setting powder (I recommend the Laura Mercier Translucent Loose Setting Powder) keep your make up in place and on your face all day long, but it’ll also create a barrier from your liquids to powders and make your powders appear natural rather than streaky on your face.
  6. Highlight minimally. We all know highlighting is the newest trend, and it’s a great one too. But if you’re going to over-do it you might look greasy and sweaty (ew). What I usually do is highlight the top of my cheekbones, my cupids bow and at the top of my nose. I used to highlight down the whole bridge of my nose but because I have a bump on my nose it would emphasise that. I now highlight just the top up to the bump so when you look at me straight on it looks like I don’t even have a bump.
  7. Contour correctly. Contouring doesn’t mean you have to look dirty and patchy. I like to contour round the edges of my face, my cheekbones and the sides of my nose (the closer together on either side of your nose you choose to do this, the thinner your nose will look). Invest in a few products and tools you really like and that work well for you (I’m obsessed with the Nars Laguna Bronzer and the Sephora Pro Contouring Highlight brush). Also, I like to highlight before I contour because then my face has more bronzer than highlight and it creates a more sculpted look (I learned that one from Huda Beauty).
  8. Don’t smile to yourself when you put blush on. Amidst what we’ve heard, blush isn’t meant to go on the apples of your cheeks only. It would look a little clown like. You can start by applying it there and sweep it back over your contour for a very natural flush. And yes, blush is totally optional.
  9. Never forget your eyes and lips. Although I love wearing eyeliner it doesn’t feel very good as my eyes get irritated, but I always use an eyelash curler and mascara. I know a lot of people don’t like to curl their eyelashes but it makes such a big difference for me and really opens up my face. Also, if you’re going all out with eyeshadow and fake lashes etc. then go with a subtle lip. It’s either or for me.
  10. Don’t over do it. Please don’t over do it. I’ve seen way too many Michael Jackson lookalikes (not in a good way). Whatever your into, less is more. Remember the best thing you can wear on your face is a smile.

Hope this helps you and if you want to see more posts like this let me know.

Sasha xx

2 thoughts on “makeup mondays: make up tips you need to know!

Leave a Reply

