THRIFTY THURSDAYS – How I clean my makeup brushes

Hi everyone! 

Here’s a video on how I clean my makeup brushes.

I used to use the MAC Brush cleanser, but this retails at £12 a bottle. As a makeup brush lover and I have accumulated quite a few brushes in my collection, it just wasn’t economical. I switched to isopropyl alcohol a couple of years ago and haven’t looked back!

Here’s what I’ve learnt from switching from a generic brush cleanser to isopropyl alcohol –

  1. Makeup brushes should be cleaned as regularly as possible, and I use mine nearly every day. This means I should be cleaning them once a week, but I settle for once every fortnight.
  2. The higher the percentage of alcohol in the isopropyl alcohol the better. I use 75% at the moment, but I was using 95% (or something very high) and this cleaned my brushes better.
  3. The solution is a solvent, which means this sanitises dirt and excess oil. It is used as a disinfectant. The best part is that the alcohol dries up the brushes quickly! The smaller brushes are completely dry within the hour. For larger brushes I would say 4–6 hours, which is not bad, considering with the brush cleanser I would leave them overnight.
  4. Isopropyl alcohol is cheaper.
  5. Using alcohol has not damaged my brushes in any way and I feel that the dirt slides off the brushes effortlessly.

DISCLAIMER: Please use this product with caution! It does contain a high percentage of alcohol, which means take care with getting the solution on your skin and avoid flammable surfaces. (I’ve never had any allergic reactions or difficulty with handling it).

 

Hope you like watching this video!

Please let me know how you clean your brushes and if you have any tips!

Divya

Leave a Reply

