THRIFTY THURSDAYS – Shopping on a budget

I love to shop. I genuinely think it’s my favourite thing to do. At times I even consider it to be a sport if I’m running around from one place to another. Anyways, it adds up and can be expensive. So here are a few tips on how to save a little on wherever you can.

  1. Subscribe to your favourite shopping websites. They will let you know when it’s sale time or when there are special offers and by subscribing you will know about them before people who randomly happen to be on the website do.
  2. Use a student card to get further discounts. You’re no longer a student? No problem! I’m sure you know someone who is. Borrow it and sometimes they might get to know about your great deals too. It’s a win-win situation.
  3. Go online before going to the store. Many times I can get carried away at the store when I’m in a rush and I decide I spontaneously like something. It really helps me if I go online first and have some time to reason with myself and decide whether I’d actually wear something, need it or not.
  4. Compare. For example, if I know I need a black blazer for interviews, and I saw one that I like at Zara, I would then go either in person to the store or online at H&M or Cotton On (basically cheaper stores) and see if they have black blazers. Since it’s not an item of clothing I would wear often, I would be so happy to spend as little money as possible on it.
  5. Outlets. Make this a thing. Find out when they have their best sales by becoming friendly with the people who work there and go a few times a year.
  6. If you’re in the U.S. say you have a code in the store at checkout. I just recently learned this and it’s worked great for me! The one time someone questioned me, I said ‘hold on, it’s on my email somewhere’ and then I pretended to look through my email and the cashier eventually got frustrated and said she’d just give it to me.
  7. If you’re shopping in a country where they do tax returns, actually get your return money! I have been there and done that and I know it might seem like it’s ‘only 5 pounds’ but it all adds up!
  8. Lastly, and possibly my strangest piece of advice: don’t necessarily buy the cheapest thing. The last thing you want to do is go to to H&M and buy their leggings and after wearing them once to have them rip. If it’s an item of clothing you know you’ll wear over and over again invest in it appropriately the first time and take good care of it. You’d be surprised how much money that’ll save you in the long run.

Sasha xx

7 thoughts on “THRIFTY THURSDAYS – Shopping on a budget

  1. The Sartorial Coquette says:

    haha shopping can totally be a sport – walking to find the perfect items can take up a lot of time 😉 and yes stuff does add up sigh
    thesartorialcoquette.com
    instagram: the_ch1ara

    Like

  2. Smear says:

    “Go online before going to the store” Yes! So important. 1) you can check outlet sites- like mentioned above- and 2) you can think about things. I like to go into a store, figure out my sizes and then wait for things to go on sale 🙂

    I get most of my clothing from thrift stores, honestly, and it gives me a chance to buy better quality stuff- though I’m known to splurge on a couple cheap items if I think they are really cute!

    Like

Leave a Reply

