MAKEUP MONDAYS – Beauty Hits & Misses!

Happy Makeup Mondays everyone!

Today I thought it would be great to do a couple of beauty hits & misses.

My three hits are:

Tom Ford Eye Color Quad in 02 Cognac Sable – Tom Ford does the most gorgeous makeup and this eyeshadow palette is one of my favourites. Not only are the colours metallic and shimmery with a beautiful colour payoff, but this palette works on many different skin tones. They blend effortlessly and I can’t stress how pigmented the product is.

Charlotte Tilbury K.I.S.S.I.N.G Mini Lipstick Charms – So Marilyn, Penelope Pink and Bitch Perfect – These lipsticks are cute, it’s as simple as that. I love the Charlotte Tilbury packaging and how creamy these little lipsticks are. These are a bargain! You get to try three of the colours for the cost of one and bit more full-sized lipsticks. I bought this at Christmas and have worn both So Marilyn and Penelope Pink on top of my lipliner. They are perfect for slipping into an evening bag if you’re going out.

Revlon Colorburst Balm Stain in 001 Honey Douche – I couldn’t find the link online for this, but I’ve seen this product both in Sasa in Hong Kong and Boots in the UK. This is my go-to lip product. It was in my uni-bag for pretty much all of last year, it has incredible staying power. It’s retractable, I love the colour of the balm and have grown to love the distinct mintiness of the product, despite not enjoying the flavour of mint in foods in general. Cannot recommend this product enough!


My three misses are:

Gerard Cosmetics Hydra Matte Liquid Lipstick in Iced Mocha – I had high hopes for this product. In fact, it was why I purchased a couple of lip products from Gerard Cosmetics in the first place. I loved the colour after looking at Gerard Cosmetic’s instagram account, but it just doesn’t suit my skin tone. Rather than giving a brown/purple tone, it looks like a grey/brown, which is not to my taste. I really like the other colour Cher in this product, but this liquid lipstick just doesn’t cut it for me.

Urban Decay Naked Flushed – I am a massive Urban Decay fan, and have collected the Naked Palettes for many years. However, this product is my least favourite. I like that the palette is compact with a bronzer, highlighter and blush. Although, I think that the bronzer is too shimmery and too light for my skin tone. I don’t really use blush very often, so I can’t comment on whether I like that. The highlighter is what I use most, but as far as highlighters go, I would say this is pretty average. Yes, it’s shimmery and does give the face an overall shine, but there’s nothing special about this highlighter.

Seventeen Stay Pout in Delinquent + Man Hunt – I bought these lipsticks on a whim at Boots a couple of years ago. I thought that the colours would be fun for a summer look and I was getting into the whole lipstain trend. The colours are bright, but the lipstain does settle into the fine lines of your lips, and fades out in certain areas. I think I’m mostly critical, because I prefer the other formulation for Seventeen’s other line of lipsticks, so I was disappointed with this.

 

Let me know what are your beauty hits and misses!

Divya

Leave a Reply

